“I Will Not Say ‘I Love You’.”

I will not say “I love you”.
Instead I will ask how you are.
Make sure you do not leave your keys;
Ask that you stay safe in your car.

I will not say “I love you”.
We will go out tonight for tea.
Then I will grant you time to work
And plan for next time we are free.

I will not say “I love you”.
I will tell you you’re being daft.
Say something you will find funny
Because I want to hear your laugh.

So though I will say many things,
I will not say I love you.
But as you take me by the hand,
It strikes me that really, I do.


For clarification to anyone who reads a lot of my stuff on here: I’m currently in a happy relationship. I did however go through a (calm) break-up recently, which is why I have so much break-up poetry. Just to avoid confusion :’)

Leave a Reply

