“The World’s Greatest Cake”

Take a quarter pound of sunshine
Add half a cup of love
Pour in all the laughter you can fit
Until it’s full enough.

Now three tablespoons of heartbreak
And a sprinkle of life’s trials
With a fresh pint of salty tears
But twice as many smiles.

I’m baking a cake for me
And I’m using a new recipe.
It’ll taste so nice
And I won’t think twice
Because it’s all calorie-free.

Stir it up until it’s doughy,
And sing yourself a tune.
Then into the oven, it goes top shelf.
Feel free to lick the spoon.

I’m baking a cake for me
And I’m using a new recipe.
It’ll taste so nice
And I won’t think twice
Because it’s all calorie-free.

Take it out when it’s golden brown.
Set it on the cooling tray.
Decorate with all the joy you please.
And remember, you’re okay.

You’re baking a cake, you see
With this brand new recipe.
Don’t think twice
Just enjoy life
Because it’s calorie-free.

We’re all baking this cake, you see
But each using our own recipe.
They all taste nice
So don’t think twice
Because this cake’s calorie-free.


Is this a poem or lyrics? Your guess is as good as mine, but it’s going under both for now :’) If any of you know Dodie Clark, she’s why my poems are starting to sound like songs.

Also, I’m aware this is delayed; I’ve had a lot more than three tablespoons of heartbreak in my life recently,  but we’re moving forward so it’s okay 🙂 Should be back on schedule now.

Leave a Reply

