“Your House”

Your house is a small one
Comprised of thin, chilly brick
But the kettle brings warmth
And the fleece blankets are thick

Your house is cardboard
Pizza boxes and McDonalds’ cartons
But the chatter flows freely
If missing some “thanks” and “pardon”s

Your house is a time bomb
Quietly ticking to explosion
Yet you shine from within
Immune somehow to the corrosion

Your house, I understand
Is now firmly off-limits
And through my relief, I confess
That I think I might miss it.


Sorry for the absence (holiday, A Levels chaos), but I have plans! Also this is from like February, don’t worry, I’m still in a relationship :’)

Leave a Reply

